Ave Maria-instrumental parts

Composed by Johann Michael Haydn
Edited by Martin Banner
Voicing: SATB
Instrumentation: 2 trumpets in C, 2 violins, cello, bass and continuo
Catalog number: AMP 0410P
Price: $20.00


Johann Michael Haydn (1737-1806) was an acclaimed and respected composer during his lifetime. Born in Rohrau, near the Austrian-Hungarian border, Haydn was a talented young singer in the famed Vienna Boys Choir. He was appointed as Kapellmeister at the court of Grosswardein (now in Hungary) in 1757. Haydn served the Archbishop of Salzburg from 1763 until his death. A prolific composer, he wrote hundreds of compositions including a Requiem which influenced the more famous setting by Mozart.

Ave Maria (Klafsky lIb, 30) was completed by Haydn on November 26, 1784. The text is a Gradual, liturgically used for the Rorate Coeli Mass on the fourth Sunday in Advent, and is translated as: Hail Mary, full of grace, the Lord is with you. You are blessed among women. Alleluia.

This edition is based upon the autograph score, preserved in the music archive of the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek in Munich: Mus. Ms. 428. The score is laid out over six pages, eight staves per page, in the following order: Violin 1, Violin 2, Soprano, Alto, Tenor, Bass, Continuo, two Trumpets. The heading at the top of the first page of the score reads: Graduale in Missa:Rorate di G. Mich: Haydn.

The present edition adheres closely to the above mentioned source, noting editorial markings in parentheses. Voice parts, where notated in moveable clefs, were rewritten in treble clef; phrase markings in the voice parts were added where two or more notes occurred for a single syllable of text (only those phrase markings given by the composer in the instrumental parts appear in this edition); textual underlay, given generally only in the soprano and tenor parts, were added to the alto and bass parts.

This editor is indebted to Dr. Hartmut Schaefer and the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek in Munich for allowing me to examine the autograph score, supplying me with microfilm of the score, and for granting pennission to publish this modem performing edition.

Martin Banner

Click here to see a sample.

Home  News  Composers  Catalog  Order  Contact Us  About Us 
Copyright © 2004 Alliance Music Publication Inc. All Rights Reserved.